Boat Rental - Norfolk Broads

I’m King of the world! | Boat for Hire

I think I have mentioned in a couple of previous posts that Andy’s parents live not far from Great Yarmouth, which is roughly 4 and 1/2 hours from where we live in the land locked Midlands. 3 – 4 times a year we endeavour to tackle the jaunt and go to stay with them for a few days.

Great Yarmouth Review

Sticky Toffee and Fudge Ice Cream at the beach. Can’t beat it!

Winterton Beach - Norfolk

Gorgeous view at Winterton Beach

As a child from the aforementioned land locked Midlands, I LOVE the sea. The novelty may have worn off slightly for Andy and his parents but I like to spend every minute eating Fish & Chips, Ice Cream and Candy Floss, spending copious amounts of money in 2p machines at the arcades and also taking selfies in front of the beach. I’m not ashamed, I blinking love a good seaside day!

Boat Rental - Norfolk Broads

Stunning.

This time however we were visiting for slightly longer, giving us 2 full seaside days but then a day to do something different. Time to discover the Norfolk Broads (I suppose you have to do something cultural every once in a while!) We decided that not only were we going to spend the day at the Broads, we were going to spend the day ON them. In our own little rented boat! I’m not going to lie, I was beside myself with excitement. I packed a lovely little picnic and grabbed some warmer clothing for us both (just in case) and then we were off.

Boat Rental - Norfolk Broads

The Captain.

We ventured up to Stalham, roughly 15 minutes from Andy’s parents’ house and found Moonfleet Marine. Here we had a little safety induction, were fitted with the correct lifejackets and then shown the ropes on the boat. We paid Β£54 for 4 hours which wasn’t too bad, these boats can seat 6 also so if you were splitting that it really would be a bargain.

Boat Rental - Norfolk Broads

Perfect.

I’m the car driver in our relationship so naturally I thought I would be the best boat driver, right? Wrong. I was AWFUL. I crashed twice, descended into a fit of giggles and then crashed some more. Safe to say, Andy took the reigns in this task whilst I lorded it up sunbathing in the back bit of the boat, eating strawberries, drinking shandy and getting a tan. Win.

Boat Rental - Norfolk Broads

Awful Photo but this was the ultimate chill!

I would definitely recommend renting a boat along the Norfolk Broads, they were absolutely breathtaking and really are the perfect place for a day out. Every town and village along the Broads has a Staithe (the landing stage or docking area) and plenty of places to rent a boat from.

Boat Rental - Norfolk Broads

We had a great day renting from Moonfleet Marine and would definitely recommend them, however this isn’t a sponsored post or a review, we very much paid for it ourselves and had a bloody lovely time!

Boat Rental - Norfolk Broads

An absolutely stunning day overall.

Have you ever visited the Norfolk Broads or Norfolk in general? What other places and things to do would you recommend?

Charlie x

6 thoughts on “I’m King of the world! | Boat for Hire

  1. Emma says:

    I have only good memories from the times I’ve visited Norfolk! I’ve been once to a festival there (going again in 3 days!!!) and once I went sailing on the Broads for a long weekend! We went in late October/early November so it was much colder (we went a few years back when we had strong winds across the country!) but the sailing was amazing! Love all your pictures and I’m glad you had a good time!

    Like

    • charliecakeandcoffee says:

      Ooh what festival is it? It really was great. I would love to sail on the Broads for a long weekend however because we rarely get down there, most of our time is spent visiting his parents. Thank you for your comment lovely, I hope your festival is amazing! xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Emma says:

        It’s a Christian youth festival called Newday. If you ever do get around to it please do post about it! Thank you. πŸ™‚ xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

