Coconut Ice

I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconuts | Quick and easy Coconut Ice

Coconut Ice

Homemade Coconut Ice

Coconut Ice, it reminds me of seaside visits as a kid and old fashioned sweet shops that make me salivate even at the thought. It’s something I had completely forgotten about and hadn’t come across in a while until one weekend when we were down visiting the other half’s parents in Norfolk and I saw it, shimmering away in an adorable little bake shop in Norwich.

Most Coconut Ice that you can buy from general shops and supermarkets just isn’t quite the same, it doesn’t have the crumbly texture and the creamy taste, it is overly artificial and takes on a luminous pink colour. So, I decided to find the recipe and make my own. It was so easy!

Coconut Ice

Homemade Green Coconut Ice

Quick and Easy Coconut Ice

I work in cups, I am not American however I just find it easier, however if you google the measurements you will be able to find conversions easily enough.

  • 2 3/4 Cups – Unsweetened desiccated coconut
  • 1 3/4 Cups – Icing sugar
  • 3/4 Cups – Condensed milk
  • 1/4 tbsp – Vanilla extract
  • 2 drops of any food colouring you wish.

Mix together the condensed milk, icing sugar and vanilla until it is a beautiful thick and smooth paste (perhaps don’t ‘try’ a heaped spoon of this paste as it will make you feel extremely sick, unfortunately I speak from experience.) Then add the coconut and mix until completely covered, it’s probably easier to get stuck in and use your hands as it will mix together much better. You will then need to split the batch in half, putting one half in a separate bowl and leaving aside.

Coconut Ice is traditionally white and pink but I don’t feel that this has to be the rule. I like to mix it up, using different colours each time I make it. I definitely don’t make the colours fluorescent like the shop bought sweet, I like the homemade and more natural feel of pastel colours. Add in 2 drops of whatever food colouring takes your fancy to one batch of the mix, using your hands to blend it completely.

Once you are happy with your two sets of coconut ice mix, sprinkle icing sugar on a board or surface and press out both batches into a small rectangular shape before placing on top of each other. Carefully use a rolling pin to roll it out, probably to about 1″ thick, try your best to ensure it rolls evenly and stays in a rectangular shape. Too much icing sugar will make it sticky so use sparingly.

Leave to set for at least 3-4 hours although overnight is better, before cutting into cubes and serving.

There you have it, quick and easy Coconut Ice that is much scrummier than any you could buy in a supermarket!

Coconut Ice

Look at the crumbly texture!

Let me know what colours you would/have used! I am always looking for inspiration!

Charlie x

One thought on “I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconuts | Quick and easy Coconut Ice

Leave a Reply

