Finding Audrey

Review – Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella.

Finding Audrey

Finding Audrey

So something I have not really mentioned too much so far is my love of reading. I have mentioned in a previous post that I have always wanted to be a journalist and I have a deep affection for writing, however my love of written language stems from a huge passion for reading.

For as long as I can remember I have been an avid reader. Sophie Kinsella (also writes under her real name of Madeline Wickham) has always been a favourite. My mom always used to read the latest offerings and then would always pass these on to me, in particular The Shopaholic Series. I am proud to say I have read every published book from Sophie, so when I was given the opportunity to read and review her first foray into Young Adult fiction it is safe to say I was extremely excited!

Finding Audrey* was everything I had hoped for and more. I am a fast reader and I have a tendency to get completely absorbed by a book, this one was no different and three hours on a Sunday afternoon (in bed with chocolate and coffee, obviously) took me from cover to cover. I couldn’t put it down!

The crucial part of any book in my opinion is ensuring that the protaganist is somebody you can relate to and root for, Audrey was exactly this. An anxiety disorder disrupts Audrey’s life and that of her nearest and dearest. The actual incident that sparked her anxiety isn’t elaborated upon in any major detail and at first this really annoyed me as I was desperate to know but the further into the story I got, the more I realised that this made the book all the more relatable. Readers are able to apply their own experience to the incident in a way that will speak to them.

Through visits to Dr. Sarah, interactions with her family and a friendship with a boy called Linus that deepens as the novel continues, you get to ride along with Audrey as her recovery gains momentum and you really feelΒ for her during her lowest points. It highlights howΒ everyday situations such as popping to Starbucks can be an extremely difficult activity for others and it affords you a level of understanding that you perhaps did not have before.

I don’t suffer with anxiety and I know very few people in real life that do, for this reason this book was an eye opener. Obviously I know this is fictional and anxiety attacks people in a range of different ways, everybody is different, however I feel that Sophie Kinsella has handled the subject sensitively and extremely positively.

For me this book has been a real winner and only strengthens my love for Sophie as an author! From top to bottom,Β the plot, characters, the dialogues, the sequence, the narrative, the pace, it just all works perfectly. If you can, read Finding Audrey, no matter your age, I’ve had to lend my copy to my mom!

Have you read Finding Audrey? Let me know your thoughts!

Charlie x

Get your copy of Finding Audrey – Click here

* I was supplied a copy of Finding Audrey for free, to review. All views and opinions are 100% my own.

2 thoughts on “Review – Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella.

  1. chocolatepages says:

    I also really love Sophie Kinsella and have read most of her books. I loved this one too. Even though its a sensitive and serious topic for a book, she still made it very humorous. Sophie still added her wonderful witty writing style that we fans love.
    My review link is here if you would like a read: http://wp.me/p4CHeD-ho
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts, I’m glad you enjoyed it.
    Amanda.

    Like

Leave a Reply

