Decor

Late to the trend – Bill’s Restaurant, Norwich.

I know I am late to the trend with Bill’s, everybody seems to rave about it and I’ve wanted to go for agessssss! For the Easter break we travelled to Norfolk to visit my boyfriends parents and we were offered the chance to go and visit the Bill’s in Norwich*, I was so excited! Bill’s premise combines an old grocery store theme with a trendy and relaxing eatery, offering foods of all different types.

The Bill’s in Norwich is not far from the market, situated near a Jamie Oliver’s restaurant, an awesome looking Macaroon shop and a couple of cute little shopping arcades. The perfect spot for a bite to eat and a catch up. Although it is only just off the main shopping street so it is accessible enough!

WIneDecor

We were spoilt for choice with the menu and even thinking about it now is making my mouth water! It was nice to look around and see so many different types of people, some catching up over coffee, others celebrating a birthday in a large groups and families escaping the hustle and bustle of Norwich on Good Friday. It felt really comfortable and laid back.

Warm Potato and Rosemary Bread

To start with we decided on Warm Potato and Rosemary Bread with Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar, it came out steaming and it tasted like it was straight from the oven! Yummmmm!

For main meals I wanted both of us to choose different meals (so I could try both, obviously!) so I ordered the Chargrilled Rump Steak with Horseradish mash, onion rings and chimichurri sauce. Although the steak was cooked slightly more than I had requested, it was so beautiful I didn’t care! The other half ordered Bill’s style bbq pork ribs, these too were pretty damn epic, I can vouch for that as obviously I had a nibble! Pretty massive rack of ribs too so the boyfriend was thoroughly pleased!!

I could eat this right now!

I could eat this right now!

ALL OF THE RIBS!

ALL OF THE RIBS!

After all of that we were stuffed but it would have been rude not to try a dessert. Wouldn’t it? Well I am so glad I did because no exaggeration, the dessert that followed is possibly the greatest dessert I have EVER eaten. Trust me, I have eaten my fair share of desserts so this is a big statement! Warm Pecan Pie with Banana Ice Cream (well, I had vanilla ice cream because I don’t like Banana, but whatever!). Perfect texture, perfect taste it was just bloody lovely! We also had the warm cinnamon mini donuts with hot chocolate dipping sauce which was really good but overshadowed by the awesome Pecan Pie!

*WARNING – The next images could make you crave dessert!*

The God of all desserts!

The God of all desserts!

Mini Donuts.

Mini Donuts.

So, I guess it’s kind of obvious that we really enjoyed our time at Bill’s Norwich, the food was excellent but the best part of all was the service. Our waiter, Gabor, was fantastic. Nothing was too much for him, he told us all about how their signature Pink Lemonade is made, what food he recommended and was always on hand to answer my questions! It is so refreshing to be served by somebody that clearly loves what they do and is proud of where they work, it really can make the meal special.

Thank you to those at Bill’s Norwich who made our day visit to the city so lovely. I am sure we will be visiting one of your restaurants again very soon! If you get the chance to go to Bill’s, I would definitely recommend it!

Charlie x

* We were lucky enough to beΒ invited to review the restaurant for free. All views and opinions are 100% my own.

6 thoughts on “Late to the trend – Bill’s Restaurant, Norwich.

  1. lyn says:

    This place looks good.. All beautifully presented and lots of lovely choice by the looks of it. Ok so it’s a bit far for me to travel to from London but we do a lot of weekends away and further afield and Norwich has been on my hit list for a while now. A friend was only saying the other day how lovely it was and now I have a decent restaurant recommendation too.. thanks, an enjoyable read..

    Like

    • charliecakeandcoffee says:

      You really should visit, although I think there are quite a few of these in London too if that helps! It’s a chain but it doesn’t feel like a chain restaurant if you know what I mean? Also on the wider front, I love Norwich. I would never have gone there if it hadn’t been for my kind of ‘in-laws’ but I am so glad I did! So quaint yet modern! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

