Crabs and Ice Cream Coffee

Breathtaking.

Breathtaking.

Life has gone a bit manic recently, since we moved house we have not had a weekend at home! With that in mind I have decided to do a few travel style updates. This weekend just gone we had a weekend away down south on the border of Dorset and Devon and within the next three weeks, we have two more weekends away!

I have a huge family, especially on my Dads side, so for a weekend every March, the whole of my Dads side of the family descend on a house somewhere in the UK for a weekend of catching up, drinking, games and day trips! 28 of us in one big house provides chaos and laughing until we cry, in equal amounts.

The house this year was in a village called Rousdon, just outside of Lyme Regis. We were blessed with stunning weather and we really made the most of the time away!

Coming into Lyme Regis

Coming into Lyme Regis

I visited Lyme Regis a lot growing up and so was incredibly eager to revisit, this time, showing my other half around.

The drive down south started extremely early and true to form, I had not packed a thing! So after a mad scramble to throw a few things into my case, we were off!

image8

This was before ALL of the coffee!

Travelling down was one of the nicest drives, even though it was mainly motorway driving, I have recently bought a beautiful new car so combined with the gorgeous sunshine, I was a very happy girl! We finally arrived after numerous coffee stops and spent the first manic but hilarious evening exploring the house and catching up.

On Saturday we finally ventured into Lyme Regis and I was beyond excited. We walked all along the cobb/harbour, bought the most amazing fudge I have ever eaten and then finally settled at a cafe overlooking the sea. I orderedΒ Affogato, a real holiday treat. A scoop of creamy Devonshire ice cream served with a double espresso to pour over the ice cream. Bliss!

I miss this...

I miss this…

We then headed to West Bay (WHICH IS WHERE BROADCHURCH IS FILMED!!!!!!) and we recreated the famous Broadchurch shot!

There has been a murder!

There has been a murder!

The rest of the weekend was filled with a lot of laughter and fish and chips! Oh and we did a spot of crabbing. Those poor crabs, 10 of my cousins and I spent many hours hauling them up and then letting them go!

Crabby Crab Crabs

Crabby Crab Crabs

I love this weekend away, it really gives you time to rekindle relationships with family you might not see very often. We do it every year to mark the month that was both my Nan and Grandads birth month. It is such a lovely occasion and I already cannot wait to go again next year!

image3

Have you been anywhere nice recently?

Thanks

Charlie πŸ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

